Mentored Research Training Grants

Mentored Research Training Grants help anesthesiologists develop the skills, preliminary data for subsequent grant applications and research publications needed to become independent investigators.

The MRTG is a two-year, $175,000 award that provides funding to faculty members who have completed their core anesthesiology residency training within the past 10 years. Year one is funded up to $75,000, and year two is funded up to $100,000. The MRTG requires 75 percent protected non-clinical time for research.

Areas of Research

The proposed project must be in basic science, clinical or translational, or health services research.

Mentored Research Training Grant – Basic Science
Studies pertaining to any of the fundamental questions broadly related to anesthesiology. Typically laboratory experiments with cells or animals.

Mentored Research Training Grant – Clinical or Translational
Research conducted with human subjects, or on material of human origin such as tissues, specimens and cognitive phenomena, for which the investigator directly interacts with human subjects. It includes mechanisms of human disease, therapeutic interventions, clinical trials and/or development of new technologies. Studies would typically require approval from the local institutional review board.

Mentored Research Training Grant – Health Services Research
Outcomes and health services research examines how people obtain access to health care, the cost of care and what happens to patients as a result of this care. The main goals of health services research are to identify the most effective ways to organize, manage, finance and deliver high quality care.

Eligibility Requirements

At the time of the award, applicants must meet the following eligibility requirements.
•    U.S. citizen, permanent U.S. resident, or holder of H-1 visa with minimum of three years remaining. A J-1 visa holder would not qualify.
•    Graduate physician with an unexpired, permanent, unconditional and unrestricted license to practice medicine or osteopathy in at least one state or jurisdiction of the United States.*
•    No more than 10 years from completion of initial core anesthesiology residency training, whether or not from an ACGME-accredited program.*
For February 2017 applications, core anesthesiology residency training graduation/completion year must be 2007 or later.
•    Certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology or in the examination system.*
•    Active member of the American Society of Anesthesiologists.

The MRTG is not intended for investigators who have received significant extramural funding, such as NIH R-awards, K23, K08, K12, KL2 or AHA Young Investigator Awards. MRTG recipients may not simultaneously be receiving support from an NIH T32 grant. FAER does not allow for concurrent funding of an MRTG with these or similar awards.

The MRTG is not intended for established investigators who are changing areas of interest.

*The FAER Grant Management Committee will consider applicants with equivalent training or acceptance into ABA Alternative Entry Path (AEP). The acceptance letter must be provided to FAER at the time of grant application submission.

Research Time

•    During the two years of FAER-funded research, the recipient must devote a minimum commitment equivalent of nine calendar person months — 75 percent of the PI’s full-time appointment — to research and career development activities directly related to the FAER-funded project. (These activities may not necessarily be included in the specific aims of the FAER research plan.)
•    The percent effort on the FAER-funded research and the percent of time on career development activities should be described in the budget justification.
•    The remaining 25 percent effort can be divided among clinical and teaching activities only if these activities are consistent with the recipient’s development into an independent anesthesiologist clinician-scientist or health services researcher.


•    The total funding amount for a Mentored Research Training Grant is $175,000.
•    Year one will be paid up to $75,000. Year two will be paid up to $100,000.
•    Quarterly grant payments are made to the institution, not directly to the award recipient.
•    Award renewal for the second year is contingent on the FAER Board of Directors’ favorable review of the interim report.